Spoiled (No Excess)

“Perhaps too much of everything is as bad as too little.” – Edna Ferber

Or perhaps too much of anything is bad, period.  Too much food, too much comfort, too much adoration, too much money…the list is basically endless.  Moderation has always been the goal.  But I think most people know that.  The real trick is living it.

I’m just as guilty as any other American – I want to eat what I want when I want.  I want to live where I want and be safe there.  I want to be appreciated and accepted by people.  I want to have enough money to do the things I want to do and buy the things I want to buy.  Reality imposes limits on all of those things, but I still believe that American culture is, by and large, spoiled.

I have a good friend who takes mission trips to Haiti, and she calls fashion faux pas or complaints about the type of food available “First-World problems.”  We work together, and a large part of our job involves helping people get health insurance coverage.  Part of this job involves getting yelled at a lot.  After getting chewed out one day, she told me a story about a man in Haiti.

The man was working in a field harvesting.  While working, he cut his leg – badly.  He was bleeding, but the nearest medical treatment was about six miles away.  So he bandaged his leg up as well as he could and proceeded to hobble six miles to the medical center.  He then waited for an hour before he could be seen, because so many other people were there needing help too.  Finally, one of the volunteers at the center cleaned up his leg, stitched it up, and gave him eight Tylenol for the pain.  He then hobbled six miles back, because he had to work the next day or his family wouldn’t be able to eat.

It’s become an endless refrain, to the point where is doesn’t seem to mean anything, but it’s still true – we are so spoiled.  We have too much of everything, and so many others have next to nothing.

 

Thanks, as usual, to The Daily Post for the prompt.

This entry was posted in Writing Prompts. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Spoiled (No Excess)

  1. lifelessons says:

    To the point and well-stated.

    Like

Leave a Reply

